October 7th – Honor The Fallen

By: JosiahE

Oct 18 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Photo A Day

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:185mm
ISO:320
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D


Full Size Image

Good Morning,

Here is a shot I captured around 6:00 just as the sun was setting in a glorious display of color and light. There is a beautiful cemetery on the hill above the town of Denver, where I work, with the mountains in the background. There was a lot going on with the light and background but I decided that for this shot simplicity and focus was the key. I shot a number of other photographs until I came to this grave with the name “Smith” on it and the American flag. While I do not consider this my finest image ever I really like how the name on the gravestone is, in our culture, kind of the generic American name and thus stands, in a sense, for all the men who lie in their graves with only a little flag to hint at what they gave of themselves to our country and to us as freeborn citizens.

God Bless,
~Josiah

Leave a Reply

