July 19th

By: JosiahE

Jul 20 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

2 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:42mm
ISO:320
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D


Good Afternoon,

Yesterday, as I was driving home from work, I passed a farm that I have passed many, many times before. In fact, the owner of the farm pulled me out of the snow once. 🙂 This time, however, they had this beautiful colt out with its mother for the first time that I have seen. For someone in desperate need of a photo for the day, at 7:30, it was just too good of an opportunity to pass up even though there were wires in the way.

I did some editing in post but the fact that I used a circular polarizing filter is what really makes this picture. The filter maintained the highlights in the clouds while bringing out the rich blue of the sky and the beautiful brown of the colt’s glossy coat.

Enjoy!
~Josiah

2 comments on “July 19th”

  1. The coloring in this photo is wonderful! I like the highlights on the colt a lot.

  2. Aaaaaw! It’s so cute! That is a great picture, I love how the color of the sky contrasts with the rich brown of the colt’s coat. I think you get brownie points for getting him to look at you!


Leave a Reply

