June 4th

By: JosiahE

Jun 05 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

2 Comments

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:64mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D


Full Size Image

Good Morning,

I am beginning to think that waiting until after 9:00 to take my photo for the day is not the worst idea. It seems like the late hour and my brother’s suggestions work wonders when it comes to experimenting with flash photography. 🙂

This picture here, while it has my name on it, is really my brother Benjamin’s as he is the one who gave me the idea, held my flash, held a book in place that acted as a flag to direct the light (I guess it was too late for me to think of using a snoot), provided hand modeling for me, and sprayed the cologne. On that note, this picture is actually a great example of why it is good to try “just one more shot” as we got some pretty cool pictures earlier but none of them were anywhere near this one. As you can guess having Ben spray the cologne at exactly the same time that I pressed the shutter was not a easy job! I must also publicly thank my brother Benjamin and my brother Isaac for braving the incredible cloud of cheap cologne created by this photo shoot, thankfully it was so cheap that it dissipated quickly. 🙂

This shot is lit entirely by my 430 EX, zoomed to 105mm, with the EV @ -2, and the rest of my settings adjusted so the shot is completely black without the flash.

In post I slightly increased the contrast and of course the image was sharpened by re-scaling but that was the extant of my edits.

Enjoy!
~Josiah

2 comments on “June 4th”

  1. Dude, this is great! It’s so clean!

  2. This photo deserves more comments. It’s one of my favorites so far.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.