May 15th – DIY Indie VFX Shot Anyone?

By: JosiahE

May 15 2010

Tags:

Category: Photo A Day

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.7
Focal Length:7.9mm
Shutter:1/59 sec


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

Today I took yet another crack at getting some nice footage to use for a simple VFX shot that I have been working on. This time around I think I nailed it, thanks to my latest glide track rig. PVC, wood, a 1/4′ bolt, and duct tape are all there is to this rig, not very strong at all, but it does give some pretty smooth motion. I intend to make a similar rig in the future with better materials to give it more rigidity and durability now that I have successfully tested the idea.

Yes, I did shoot this with a point and shoot, can you believe it? I no longer have the luxury of two full DSLR rigs so I have to actually make do with a P&S for shots like this, though, I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by this image as I did not have to make any edits to it even though I shot this in P mode with only the ISO set manually. No, I am not selling my 7D, but the S3 is a pretty decent camera.

God Bless,
~Josiah

One comment on “May 15th – DIY Indie VFX Shot Anyone?”

  1. Hey where can I watch this?


Leave a Reply

