April 23rd – Timothy

By: JosiahE

Apr 23 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:175mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

This evening my brother Timothy and I were playing around with one of the most powerful new features found in the 7D, namely, IR remote control of flash units. This picture is actually an accident as he bounced the flash (a 430EX II) off of something that gave it a nice diffused, warm tone but I when I tried, I couldn’t replicate the effect properly.

The primary edit to this picture was a masked curves adjustment to the background to pull down the whitish object in the background. Remember, the brightest part of the image always draws the eye, consequently, it is death to an image to have two competing objects with similar levels of brightness. This is something that should have been taken care of when the picture was taken, but, like I said, I shot this picture very quickly and was then unable to replicate the lighting in a more controlled setting. Sharpening, CC, and contrast enhancement compose my typical finishing pass on any image. Keep in mind, I do shoot RAW, so, while the images are more versatile, they do have less contrast and saturation then JPEG’s.

Enjoy!
~Josiah

Leave a Reply

