April 9th – The Road

By: JosiahE

Apr 10 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

3 Comments

Aperture:f/3.51
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/197 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Good Morning,

Last night, as we were nearing the end of our supper, I happened to look out the window and see the incredible combo of strong directional light from the setting sun and heavy, lowering cloud cover. I promptly ran as fast as I could to the top of our hill to capture an image I have had in my mind for a while, but, sadly, I was 5 minutes too late as the sun had dropped too low. I consoled myself by trying out a few other ideas and here is the result!

For this image I used 3 exposures using AEB at 2 full stops in either direction. They key to getting this shot was a relatively fast shutter speed, to help freeze the tree, which was blowing in the wind, and the 40D’s 6 frames a second to keep the clouds from moving too far between the first and last frame. I processed this image in Photomatix and then took it into Photoshop for further enhancements.

Enjoy!

3 comments on “April 9th – The Road”

  1. That’s not bad at all for being 5 minutes late! I like this picture.

  2. Josiah, I love that picture. It is probably my favorite so far.

  3. Thank you both! I am very happy with how it turned out as well and now rank it as one of my top ten. 🙂


Leave a Reply

