April 2nd – Dad The Lumberjack

By: JosiahE

Apr 02 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

2 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:30mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

Today I had the day off from work so I put it to good use by spending most of the day working outside. I will be honest, it was only partly to help the family and had more to do with the chance to get outside, on a simply gorgeous day, and do something physical for a change. Can I get an “Amen” from all of you who are tied to computer screens all day? 🙂

I think this picture is now my favorite shot in this blog, not so much for its technical aspects but really because it is the best picture that I have of my awesome Dad wielding his chainsaw. Part of the reason this has such significance for me is because, as long as I can remember, I have seen Dad skillfully cutting wood, with this exact chainsaw, to provide heat for our home throughout the years. When it comes to anything having to do with wood just ask my Dad, the resident expert on every aspect of wood.

Using a polarizing filter was the key to making this shot possible as it enabled me to pull down the sky, showcasing the beauty of a clear blue sky and helping to flatten the dynamic range of the image somewhat. To complete the shot I boosted the vibrance and selectively brightened up Dad’s face to more closely match the image that my eyes saw.

God Bless,
~Josiah

P.S. Per Nawelle’s comment I re-edited this photo, you can see the original here: Original

2 comments on “April 2nd – Dad The Lumberjack”

  1. This is a great shot, Josiah, and it honors the strength of your father. Yes, the public has seen Mr. Einwechter the passionate expositor before. But Mr. Einwechter the zealous lumberjack? This is new.

    Also, a stellar use of flowers–providing an energetic (Aren’t primary colors great?) complement to some good, hard, masculine labor.

    To my eye, the bright areas in the foreground, especially the out-of-focus log on the left and the strip of woody substance along the bottom, distract from your subject. Ideally, the log shouldn’t be there at all, but perhaps a gradient and a spot of blurring would do the trick.

    Nice work; this is the kind of shot that makes this blog well worth coming back to.

  2. Thank you very much Nawelle!

    I have to agree on primary colors. The power of strong color contrasts, like this, are what keep me firmly in the world of color photography, my excursions into B & W are few and far between, as I am sure you have noticed. I think it may be good to expand beyond yellow and blue though. 🙂

    I appreciate and completely agree with your critique, as usual I was attempting to dance the middle line between composition, context, and the use of light to direct they eye. But, now that you point it out, I think for future uses of this image I will crop the bottom slightly and pull down the brightness of the logs.

    Frankly, comments like yours are what really keep my motivation and direction for this blog alive as critique like this is so valuable in the development of anyone’s photography. If you ever want to get back into photo a day blogging send me a link and I will do my best to aid your photography in like manner.


Leave a Reply

