March 2nd – The Door

By: JosiahE

Mar 02 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Photo A Day

1 Comment

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT


Good Evening,

I was over in the warehouse today and the strong light spilling out from this door attracted my attention so I decided to see if I could capture the essence of what I saw. I would have preferred the door on the left side of the frame but just to the right were two skids with tools and other stuff on them.

The shot straight out of camera did not capture the image that I had in my head since the light contrast was not particularly strong between the inside of the door and the rest of the image. I used a duplicate layer with the Vivid Light blend mode set at 50% and then masked out the center of the door so I wouldn’t lose all of the detail but still maintain the almost whiteout effect that I was looking for. Sharpening and further contrast adjustment via Levels finished off this shot.

God Bless,
~Josiah

One comment on “March 2nd – The Door”

  1. What potential an open door offers!


Leave a Reply

