Feb 25th – The Masked Warrior

By: JosiahE

Feb 25 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

6 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:125
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

Tonight I was running out of time and ideas when I was saved by seeing our new Under Armour face masks that came in the mail today. We started trying on these amazing masks that are as comfortable as they are awesome looking when I saw my trusty MP5 airsoft rifle, need I say more?

The primary light for this shot was provided by my 430 ex II at 1/64 in Manual mode using a Bower Flash Extension cord, a product I would highly recommend to anyone with a hot shoe flash, hand-held above my head and to the left of the camera to give the strong directional light I was after. I set the camera so that it would pick up almost none of the ambient light coming from a fluorescent light fixture that was right behind me.

In post I selectively darkened his finger and brightened his left eye slightly since I didn’t have time to tweak any more in camera. A multiply layer and 20% opacity gave some additional punch but all of my edits were tiny tweaks to push the image a little further toward what I wanted and were not at all necessary.

Can anyone guess who this is?

Enjoy!
~Josiah

6 comments on “Feb 25th – The Masked Warrior”

  1. There is something familiar about those eyes…. 😉

  2. I think it is quite obvious who it is, it says the name in the lower corner.

  3. And Scott is the winner! His prize? To give me any subject, within reason of course, that he would like a photograph of. I will do my level best to pull it off, even if it is something like a flying sidekick off of a warehouse, with the means at my disposal.

    Nice try, Isaac. 🙂


Leave a Reply

