Feb 12th – Texture

By: JosiahE

Feb 12 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

1 Comment

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

It is late so I will keep this short.

After shooting a number of pictures of a front end loader clearing the parking lot at work, I decided to walk around and see if I could get any neat snow shots that wouldn’t look quite so much like a repetition of yesterdays image. Interestingly enough, I took this picture with my telephoto lens of on of the only small patches of untouched snow in that area. All around is rough snow, pavement, buildings, cars, signs, and telephone lines that are clearly visible in any picture not using a telephoto like this. For me this picture is really proof to myself that you can find art anywhere, even if you have to use a telephoto to cut out almost everything you see.

As I said, I took this with my 70-200mm using a circular polarizing filter to enhance the contrast of the image. In post I amped the contrast with curves, used the ACR clarity feature (a form of “smart contrast”) to enhance the clarity and sharpness of the texture, and then finished off with a round of sharpening. I chose to go with black and white on this shot both because the color in this image does not really tell a story and because high contrast B & W is simply unbeatable for showcasing texture.

Enjoy!

~Josiah

One comment on “Feb 12th – Texture”

  1. Wow, this is an amazing picture! Make that 101 comments šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

