Feb 11 – The Aftermath

By: JosiahE

Feb 12 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

2 Comments

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:25mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Good Morning,

The sight of a snowplow like this was either an encouragement, if you needed to get to work as soon as possible, or a discouragement, if you happened to be my poor brothers who were shoveling out the end of the lane. An even better sight than this, though, was our neighbor coming up the road with his loader tractor. It is amazing how much faster things go when a tractor, with a scoop as big as at least 20 shovels, is employed!

This is another one of those shots, taken in bright sunlight, where you pretty much have to trust to your instincts and the highlight warnings for exposure since it is virtually impossible to tell from the screen if it is bright enough. In camera the biggest thing I did to get this shot was to empploy a circular polarizing filter, if you don’t have one and you like to take pictures outside then go buy one now. I use the Hoya 58mm filter for my 18-55mm and I must say, I have been pleasantly surprised at just how nice it is.

In post I increased the vibrance, an awesome, “smart” version of saturation that I have only seen in Adobe Camera Raw. After I took this into photoshop, though, I decided that the amount of saturation was a little unnatural so I slightly desaturated everything but the truck using a masked adjustment layer. I cropped the image slightly since I have a very hard time paying enough attention to the edges of my frame while also calculating in the 5% of extra space that you do not see due to the crop factor on the viewfinder. A little extra brightness and contrast, via curves, a small amount of sharpening, and you have the final result.

God Bless,
~Josiah

2 comments on “Feb 11 – The Aftermath”

  1. Sweet picture, Josiah! I love the contrast of the yellow plow with the snow.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. Great picture, Josiah. My sympathies go to the “poor brothers” mentioned.

    Even if you would have shoveled it all by hand, one driveway is easy. Try shoveling 9!!! Hopefully the snow will stick around until we’ve had chance to rest so we can enjoy it 😉


Leave a Reply

