Feb 10 – The Brave Pioneers

By: JosiahE

Feb 10 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/10
Focal Length:29mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Wow, 3+ feet of snow in about as many days! I can’t say I would like that much snow every day but I, for one, am not complaining. Granted, I don’t really need to go anywhere and the fact that it was impractical to go to work today just meant that I got a whole day to study Maya! 🙂

This picture is of most of my family as we boldly ventured out on our traditional blizzard walk. And talk about a blizzard! Heavy snowfall driven by bitingly cold blasts of wind ensured that no one was disappointed by not getting to experience a “real” blizzard.

The combination of driving snow, snow plastered goggles, and gloves made this very much a shoot from the hip type of picture. Add to that my reluctance to expose my unsealed camera to the elements more than necessary and I ended up with a shot that was shot almost completely by instinct, and, of course, the very nice auto exposure feature on my 40D.

I slightly cropped this picture in post and brightened it up some to compensate for the under exposure that the camera gave me, rather inevitable with so much white in the frame.

Don’t hurt yourself shoveling tomorrow!

God Bless,
~Josiah

Leave a Reply

