Feb 9 – Yet Another Blizzard!

By: JosiahE

Feb 09 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:1250
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Well we here in PA are being pounded by the second blizzard in less than a week! Don’t get me wrong, I love the snow, but this type of weather is rather odd!

Interestingly enough, after I got home from work and saw my brother Philip splitting wood outside with the snow falling I pulled out my camera and decided to try for a few shots of that. While I was attempting to get a nice shot of him I turned around and saw this car driving past and was instantly attracted by the contrast between the warm headlights and the cool ambient light.

In post I significantly increased the contrast and used a masked color balance layer to increase the warmth of the headlights. I know some of you may see this type of editing as cheating but, frankly, I feel that when making (not taking) a picture like this it is legitimate to do whatever editing is required to convey the original feel. As a further note on that, the color contrast was there in the original image to be sure, I merely enhanced it to further increase the strong feel of this image. I polished the image off with my typical levels of NR and sharpening.

God Bless,
~Josiah

One comment on “Feb 9 – Yet Another Blizzard!”

  1. Considering this is one of your top favorite photos ever, someone ought to comment on it. 😉

    I do like it, though to be honest I like Feb. 8th’s even better.


Leave a Reply

