Feb 3 – The Road

By: JosiahE

Feb 03 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

2 Comments

Aperture:f/9.93
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/197 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

It is late so I will makes this quick. I shot this around 1:00 today using my 18-55mm. In post I created an HDR shot from one RAW to give me a little bit more detail in the clouds, in retrospect, I could have used more traditional editing tools to achieve the same effect. I then converted it to B & W using Photoshop’s amazing filter which allows you to control the brightness levels of each color, once you try it you will wonder how you ever did B &W without it! I then used curves to jack the contrast with some selective masking to maintain the tones in the sky. The final touch was a pretty heavy round of sharpening and noise reduction.

Enjoy!

2 comments on “Feb 3 – The Road”

  1. Very nice! I like the bit of sunlight shining through the trees and the slightly squiggly road. šŸ™‚

  2. […] 365 photos on his blog (appropriately called A Photo a Day). My favorite of his recent photos is this one of a snowy tree-lined road. I like that he also talks about how he edited the […]


Leave a Reply

