Day 21 – UP!

By: JosiahE

Jan 26 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Photo A Day

5 Comments

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/2 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Good Morning,

No, I did not forget about this blog yesterday, I simply decided that sleep was more important than blogging! šŸ™‚

Last night we went over to our friend’s house to watch the new Pixar film UP, I had already seen it once (on Blu-Ray) but I noticed so much more the second time through. UP has now found its way into my top ten list of films that excelled at creative and technical excellence, if you haven’t watched it I highly recommend you do so!

I took this shot with my 18-55mm IS lens braced on my knee to be as steady as I possibly could for the relatively long shutter that I had to use. The 1/2 second shutter gave me the ambient light I needed for the room but completely blew out the screen. I knew that I was going to lose the screen, as there is no way you can properly expose the room and the detail on what is essentially the light source, so I also took a picture at a much higher shutter speed to give me a properly exposed screen that was not blurred from the on screen motion. All that was left to do was to overlay the properly exposed screen in Photoshop. This is a very simple technique, that you can do with almost any photo editing software, that is really the only way to make a picture like this. Other then that one effect the post work was my usual, NR, CC, and contrast enhancement.

God Bless,
~Josiah

5 comments on “Day 21 – UP!”

  1. Looks like the pic turned out really well, Josiah. Thanks for bringing the movie. It was excellent! We really enjoyed it.

  2. We just watched it ourselves. I thought it the best Pixar has put out yet.

  3. Thank you Scott, it is actually better then I expected it would be. šŸ™‚

    I agree, Nicolas! The visual artistry and compelling themes and messages make UP the best Pixar film that I have seen!

  4. Whoa, this photo is really jumps out at you. I think the TV screen needs blended in a bit better, but overall I like it.

  5. Thank you Benjamin! I am kind of torn on this one, technically the colors are incorrect, which causes the screen to really jump out at you, but I like that strong contrast. The screen composite is technically correct but I am not sure that it should be quite as bright as I made it. Live and learn!


Leave a Reply

