Day 17 – Lens Flare

By: JosiahE

Jan 20 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

5 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:85mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Good Evening,

Before you is the result of a 45 minute long photo shoot that I did this evening. I want to thank my very patient younger brothers, Timothy, who was nice enough to be my model, and Philip, who acted as my grip, for all of their help and patience as I worked my way into this image.

A quick run down of the lighting for this shot:

First of all I hung a small LED lamp above the book just out of frame to provide the primary fill light. I then had Philip hold a white reflector as close as he could to the book to light up the cover of the book some. For additional light I shined a bundle of 3 flashlights with a blue sticky filter on the reflector.
I then used my brother Isaac’si Pod Touch, inside the book to provide the key light that was needed to give this the punch I was after.
The final touch was to have Timothy use the AF assist beam on the S3, which gave me the beautiful lens flare and, as a side effect, a small amount of fill.
I used my 70-200mm f2.8 on a tripod with Live View and the Canon Remote to get the super slow shutter speed that I needed.

All I did in post was increase the contrast some, vignette the edges, and do the usual sharpening and noise reduction.

Enjoy!

5 comments on “Day 17 – Lens Flare”

  1. And you told me you needed that book back so that Timothy could read it?!

    Well, well. This is worth giving it back for. Creative.

  2. Cool photo! Keep up the good work.

  3. Wow, that took quite a bit of creative effort!

    Someone told me that the more sides your (polygonal) lens flare has, the better your lens is–yours looks close to being a circle.

    And I’m glad I came to your actual blog to view the photo; the background colors always enhance it.

  4. Wow, I have not read such lighting set-up from Scott Kelby. Tremendous work!!!

  5. And was I not correct Carmen? Can you honestly say that Timothy was not reading the book? 🙂

    I believe that is correct Hannah, from what I know of the subject it has to do with the number of blades in the aperture which affects lens flare and out of focus blur (bokeh). I shot this with the 70-200mm L series lens which has 8 blades instead of the 6 blades you would get on a kit lens. I totally agree about the background colors, this theme is so much fun! 🙂

    Thank you Julio! I kind of doubt that Scott Kelby puts this particular setup in any of his books but the principles that he teaches are what I used to create this image.


Leave a Reply

