Day 15 – Reaching

By: JosiahE

Jan 18 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Photo A Day

5 Comments

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:21mm
ISO:200
Shutter:30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Ok, you all might as well know, the real title of this picture is procrastination! 🙂 I took this about 10 minutes ago which is about as late as I can push things since my self-imposed bed time is 10:00! Their are benefits to procrastinating though, for example, you all wouldn’t get to see any late night photography if I didn’t, not only that, some of the most creative shots come from a tight deadline with limited subjects to photograph. Actually, scratch that, I didn’t really procrastinate, I was merely waiting for the right lighting… 🙂

For those of you who would like to know, I took this with the kit 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS lens at 30 seconds(not 1 like it says on the side). I used auto focus with the pop-up lens since it was too dark for live view or the viewfinder and this seemed to work decently well but I think that the stars are a little bit out of focus. This was my first attempt at photographing the stars and I now realize that it is not as easy as it looks!

God Bless,
~Josiah

5 comments on “Day 15 – Reaching”

  1. Neat shot!

    Not two minutes ago, I had walked outside and was thinking about how gorgeous the stars looked on this clear night. I see they looked just as nice where you are!

  2. Love this one! The stars look so close. I can see Orion’s belt and sword.

  3. Oh my! I was just looking through your posts (I’ll admit, I’m very behind in doing so) and my goodness, I absolutely love this one! Gorgeous.
    Great shot! The stars are in my top favorite things God created…most definitely.

    🙂

  4. Thank you Lauren, they were indeed beautiful!

    tsk, tsk, Emily, and here I thought you actually cared about my photography! 😉 I intend to try some more night photography the next good opportunity that presents itself!

    Thank you all!


Leave a Reply

