Day 12 – The Heart of Geekdom on Earth

By: JosiahE

Jan 14 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Photo A Day

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:20mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D


Full Size Image

Well here you have it folks, the first picture I have posted so far that has had no cropping or rotating whatsoever! It is a great feeling having nailed my composition exactly how I wanted it all in camera without having to do any adjustments at all in post.

As I am sure you can tell this image has undergone some pretty significant editing to give the look I was after, the good news is that they are all pretty simple edits that you can do yourself if you have a good photo editing program.

First off, I used Hue and Saturation to selectively desaturate all of the yellowish greens that were present to give the walls the blueish look I wanted.
Next, I duplicated the layer and changed the blend mode to Hard Light at 20% opacity, this is the first time I tried this technique and I am now a firm believer in it!
I made some small adjustments with Curves to fine tune the contrast, I did not have to do much because Hard Light took care of most of my contrast needs.
Finally, a quick vignette, some sharpening (out of habit), and we are done. I hope you enjoy the effect!

Of course if you don’t that is fine, because, really, at the end of the day this is not about being popular but about creating art that tells a story and expresses the way I see life… actually, if you will excuse me, I need to go check my traffic stats… be right back!

God Bless,
~Josiah

Leave a Reply

