Day 6 – Car Wash Time

By: JosiahE

Jan 07 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

1 Comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Today I was really not sure what I would take a picture of, it was rather cloudy and I didn’t have a lot of time so I decided to just wash my car over lunch. The place I go to has self serve bays and due to the cold two very important things were in place that made this picture possible. First of all, the garage door in front of the car was shut, due to the cold wind, and it happens to be made of semi transparent yellowish plastic turning an otherwise mundane door into a massive soft bank. Secondly, the power washer had hot water running through it instead of cold giving me a nice foggy interior. That is the good part, the bad part is directly behind my car is an open door through which can be another business, cars, and outdoor vacs. But that is not all, directly to my right the wall is full of ugly signs and on both the right and the left there was pressure washer and a large brush which only added clutter. Clearly the only thing to do was go for a straight frontal shot and completely blow out the background. This was working nicely but I decided that I needed a little more punch from the light so I bounced a full power flash, off of the door behind me. Unfortunately, the gel I used was a little too orange so I lost some of the rich red that I was shooting for, but this project is all about learning! All that was left to do was to finish blowing out the highlights in post and do a small amount of color correction.

Enjoy!

One comment on “Day 6 – Car Wash Time”

  1. Clearly you blew away the mess around your Jetta…I wish cleaning was that easy. 😉 The orange area on the front of your car is a little distracting, but otherwise I really like this picture, Josiah! The water streaming off the front of the vehicle adds the element of action–this isn’t just a flat shot of a car sitting there looking good.

    It will be interesting to see what you come up with each day. And it will be equally interesting to see if the commenters can keep up with you…. 😉


Leave a Reply

