Day 3 – My Precious!

By: JosiahE

Jan 04 2010

Tags:

Category: Photo A Day

7 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:38mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT

Today I decided to take advantage of my access to a lightbox and my work camera to give you all this picture of my 40D. For those of you who are interested I used a simple two light setup with a light box. The picture looked quite good out of camera but I took it into photoshop and really amped the contrast to give the pure white background and really make it pop. Some sharpening and a small amount of selective dodging completed the effect.

This is really my “baby” shot, both because I usually have a battery pack attached, and because I love this lens more then any other that I have ever shot with. If I were a poet I would write an ode to the Canon 50mm f1.4. something like this:

Oh incomparable 50mm!
You are sharper then the sharpest blade,
Clearer then a winter sunrise,
smoother then the finest silk
… uh, sorry, I, kind of forgot myself there for a minute, it won’t happen again, I promise! πŸ™‚

7 comments on “Day 3 – My Precious!”

  1. Hey great picture Josiah!

    When I first saw it I thought it was a stock photo for a second, it is so good. Great job.

    O, and by the way I think you should stick with photography and let the poetry. πŸ˜‰

  2. I’ll keep an eye on this blog for some daily photographic inspiration! Mom and I also happen to be doing this.

    What plans do you have for ways to specifically grow in your photography this year? Do you have suggestions/favorite resources to help someone who is less technologically equipped/skilled, namely me?

  3. Haha, I like the way you word your compliments Philip! “I thought it was a stock photo for a second, it is so good.” πŸ˜€

    Hannah: Thank you! I trust that I will be able to consistently provide you with inspiration. Just remember that I am also relying on your photography to provide me with inspiration so keep up the good work and maybe we will both be much better photographers at the end of this!

    The one set of books I would highly recommend to anyone who is still fairly new to digital photography is Scott Kelby’s excellent series:
    http://www.amazon.com/Scott-Kelbys-Digital-Photography-Volumes/dp/0321678737/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1262914748&sr=8-1

    If you have not read them you really should as soon as possible.

    When it comes to equipment I would advise purchasing the 50mm f1.8 if you do not already have it. For less then $100 you get a very, very nice lens indeed! Other then that, keep taking pictures and save your pennies. πŸ™‚

  4. Josiah, thanks for your reply and the recommendations! I had not heard of the books you mention and am now putting the 1st volume on hold at our library. I’ll look forward to learning from it.

  5. I thought it was a stock photo too! Good luck on your Photo a day – Im not brave enuf yet πŸ™‚ Still trying to learn how to drive my 40D

  6. I am sure you will greatly enjoy learning from Scott Kelby, his writing style is uniquely humorous while imparting large amounts of hard-won wisdom.

    Well once you do learn how to use the 40D and work up the bravery, send me a link and I will try to provide you with useful feedback on your images.

  7. http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebluerose/

    Thats where I keep all my pix – have been shooting buskers this week in all different lighting conditions, and having lots of learning experiences.

    Always happy to have feedback πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

