A New Year & A New Blog

By: JosiahE

Jan 01 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photo A Day

12 Comments

Aperture:f/1.4
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Greetings,

A photo a day blog is something I have been thinking of starting for quite some time and the dawn of a new year seemed to be the perfect occasion to launch out on this new venture. I am really hoping that the discipline of taking at least one picture a day will really help me to develop my creative eye and force me to take more “artsy” shots, something I almost never do. That being said, every day except for Sunday you will find, Lord willing, a new view on life as I see it.

Remember, I am counting on all of you to provide me with comments and critiques to aid me in my quest to become a better photographer.

God Bless you as you start a new year of service to him!

~Josiah

12 comments on “A New Year & A New Blog”

  1. Amazing shot!! Incredible how you caught that precise moment!

  2. Awesome picture Josiah! I love the lighting!

  3. “A Photo A Day… keeps lethargy away.” I like the twist.

    Good shot of a good shot. 😉

  4. Comment: Great picture and great ambition.

    Critique: Those telephone poles are very distracting to me 😉

  5. Neat idea, Josiah! I’m interested to see how this progresses over the course of the year.

  6. Hey Josiah, where’s today’s photo? 🙂

  7. Thank you all!

    Thank you Carmen, I learned from the best! 😉

    Thanks for the critique Shad, I totally agree with you but to tell the truth it was so dark that I did not notice them through my viewfinder. In retrospect I probably should have got lower to get more of the sky as the background but I kind of liked the lantern element. At the end of the day this is a picture that has various technical problems but I put it up anyways because I have never seen such an awesome flame out of a gun! 🙂 I would add that Isaac has probably never felt as much of a kick as he did shooting those 3.5″ 12 gauge magnums. 😉

  8. Btw, an important question has been raised in my mind about this photo. Was it taken on Thurs. or Fri.? If it’s date is still Dec. 31, 2009, I say you owe us another one for Jan. 1. 😉

  9. This is an awsome picture, Josiah! The lighting is the greatest……. I’m going to hold you responsible to keep your word this year and show us lots of neat pictures. 🙂

  10. I like it! Keep the pics coming!

  11. LOL, you would have to ask that Carmen! 🙂 But yes, it was taken on Jan 1st, I even double checked the date to make sure.

    Thank you Hannah, I am subscribed to your blog as well and will keep an eye on your progress. I will say this though, if you enabled comments on the photos themselves you would probably get a lot more feedback.

  12. […] here it is, the end has come for this amazing photographic journey. I started the year with a picture of shooting in the new year and decided to bring it to an end in the same […]


Leave a Reply

